PDA

View Full Version : Apartment Inspection for tenant

Rodrigo Diaz
11-17-2008, 02:25 PM
I received a call today from a lady who is having problems with her Lanlord making repairs. She rents an apartment in the city of Chicago and he has informed her that the rent is going up but he has yet to make any of the repairs she has requested. She asked me if I could come in and take pics of the items and compile a report of what I see. I am willing to do this But I have never done an inspection like this before. I am sure its no different than any other inspection I have done, has anyone done something similiar? If so are there things I should be careful about (legally or otherwise) and what would you charge for this type of inspection? Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance ROD.

Raymond Wand
11-17-2008, 02:33 PM
It might behoove you to ascertain if there is a Landlord and Tenant type by-law for your municipality and if so to obtain a copy, sometimes you may find them online. However un-repaired items which could affect health and safety of the occupants may in itself be all you need as evidence as long as its documented by a third party, by way of photos and report of findings as you imply.

Cheers,

Rick Hurst
11-17-2008, 03:21 PM
I think she should be filing a complaint with the city housing dept. and if there are health issues, call the health dept.

Personally I stay out of renter / Landlord type inspections. Its always nothing but a pissing match between the two. You'll just waste time on the phone arguing with the landlord.

Also, I don't think this board should be used as a place to discuss pricing. You should know what you need an hour to be operating your business or your in trouble.

rick

Ted Menelly
11-17-2008, 04:03 PM
I got a call some time ago from an investor that had multiple rental properties. He wanted me to go in and document conditions in several homes.