PDA

View Full Version : Attic terrible accident

Aziz Cassis
01-10-2009, 04:32 PM
I am an engineer, I live in Egypt and have my best friend in the US. My friend has a house in Texas where only the living room has a double height. My friend husband went on the attic, probably to repair something in the air conditioning but suddenly, the floor of the Attic in this 10 years modern house could not whistand his weight, he fall down in the living room and died.
I just returned from the US after condoleances but I have many questions...
!) Are they any areas in the Attics where people should not walk on?
2) Is their a min LIFE LOAD requirement (Building code)for ALL AREA of the attic and is this life load sufficient for a person to walk on the attic?
3) Do you think that there could be a design or constrction problem in the attic
4) If the answer to the last question is YES, what do you think I should advice my friend to do?

Jerry Peck
01-10-2009, 04:35 PM
the floor of the Attic .

The "floor of the Attic" was most likely the "gypsum board ceiling" he was walking on.

NEVER walk on the drywall ceiling ANYWHERE.

My condolences.

Mike Gault
01-10-2009, 04:44 PM
Aziz,

www.sbcindustry.com/images/technotes/T-MI_BCLL06.pdf

This link will open a pdf that talks to your question a little bit. You'll find that in areas where the manufacturer will provide less than 42" of clear space above the bottom chord (likely in your friends scenario with the two story main entry opening) tha they really expect minimum loads on those bottom chords.

I've HEARD as little as 10 lbs/ft2.

And Like Jerry said, it's very likely the drywall that failed to support him if a miss step occurred.

My condolences on the loss of your friend.

Ted Menelly
01-10-2009, 04:49 PM