PDA

View Full Version : Scary moment this morning

Jack Feldmann
03-19-2009, 03:34 PM
Weird stuff was going on in the house this morning, and when I was checking the ground wire in the crawlspace, it arced when I touched it.

Gunnar Alquist
03-19-2009, 03:36 PM
Weird stuff was going on in the house this morning, and when I was checking the ground wire in the crawlspace, it arced when I touched it.

Well, I'm not an expert Jack, (but I play one on TV). However, it seems like that might be a problem. ;)

Jack Feldmann
03-19-2009, 03:44 PM
I was going to use that phrase that Rick Hurst saw the other day, something like, "Normal arcing that you would expect from an old house that had a crappy electrician..", but changed my mind.

H.G. Watson, Sr.
03-19-2009, 03:52 PM
Whoa:eek: ! That's a fine how-de-dooo-die:o !

Ted Menelly
03-19-2009, 04:30 PM
Nothing like a nice stmulating drink of water. Probably an electrocution staion for water born microbes.

brian schmitt
03-19-2009, 04:58 PM
redneck water heater?

Fred Warner
03-19-2009, 06:14 PM
Sounds like neutral return current. Not good.

Jeff Remas
03-19-2009, 07:04 PM
Looks like someone probably lost a neutral.

They should have alarm systems for lost neutrals that shuts down the systems. You probably have a ton of ohms in the return path to the POCO transformer.

Michael Thomas
03-20-2009, 04:37 AM
"Electric water heater has exposed heating element and electrical connections, inoperative controls, incorrect overcurrent protection and lacks TPRV... " :D

Randy Aldering
03-20-2009, 06:14 AM
It would have been interesting to put an amp meter on that, and see what kind of current was moving. This is the stuff that home inspectors find that can save a life. Good catch!