PDA

View Full Version : Roof Structure

Reggie Russell
04-17-2009, 11:52 AM
Hey Guys,

I am a new inspector who just completed my first HI today. It was a beautiful 2 story home that is only 5 years old. What I am concerned about is a few things I saw in the attic and was wondering if I could get some clarification on because I just couldn't believe what I saw. The first 3 pics are what look like poor workmanship on the struts? The next 2vis what looks like the bathroom vents terminating in the attic? This home looked pretty solid everywhere else it just really shocked me to find these things in the attic. Am I over reacting guys or is this something I should write up? Thanks for all the help you guys give! :eek:

A.D. Miller
04-17-2009, 01:56 PM
Hey Guys,

I am a new inspector who just completed my first HI today. It was a beautiful 2 story home that is only 5 years old. What I am concerned about is a few things I saw in the attic and was wondering if I could get some clarification on because I just couldn't believe what I saw. The first 3 pics are what look like poor workmanship on the struts? The next 2vis what looks like the bathroom vents terminating in the attic? This home looked pretty solid everywhere else it just really shocked me to find these things in the attic. Am I over reacting guys or is this something I should write up? Thanks for all the help you guys give! :eek:

RR: The roof braces are installed by Juan and Jose and their Flying Monkey Circus. Poor workmanship. Suggest improvement by skilled carpenter, preferably not employed by the home's builder.

The bathroom exhust vent ducts were installed by their cousins Raul and Tito. Code violation. Must be terminated at the exterior of the building in damapered hoods.

Rick Hurst
04-17-2009, 02:08 PM
I'll agree with A-Man on this one. Poor craftmanship all the way.

Of course those guys were probably in a hurry after eating those burritos off Rosie's Roach Coach.