PDA

View Full Version : Crack in Slab

Reggie Russell
06-08-2009, 05:18 PM
Hey Guys,

I did a HI today on a small 10 year old home sitting on a slab. Since I am still a newbie, I would appreciate you guys' opinions on the severity or lack thereof on this crack.

Jerry Peck
06-08-2009, 05:36 PM
I wonder why that slab edge was ground down??? :confused:

If you take a photo of things with your tape measure there, we could see the relationship to size on the tape measure.

I, for one, do not like to see slab cracks like that, regardless of size.

Ted Menelly
06-08-2009, 06:32 PM
That all depends on what else is going on in the home like cracks in the wall, dips or a rise in the floor, doors out of square. How about the grading around the home. It looks by the close up picture that it is pretty flat around the home. All kinds of suggestions to make.

If nothing else is going on, I am sure there is with grading, no gutters etc etc, at least advise them that the crack should have an epoxy injection repair to close up that crack because monster termites can get into the home thru a crack that size.

I would suggest a foundation repair company at the least. Most of them do grading and drainage as well. An engineer won't help if there is nothing else apparent that a foundation company won't pick up on.

Reggie Russell
06-08-2009, 07:40 PM
Thanks for the replies! This is the side of the attached garage. Although there were a few small cracks, this one was the biggest I saw. I did not notice any unusual movement while looking around the home, no doors out of square or anything like that.

Jerry McCarthy
06-10-2009, 12:39 PM
The question that begs asking is why was the concrete slab edge saw-cut?

Jerry Peck
06-10-2009, 05:38 PM
I wonder why that slab edge was ground down??? :confused:

The question that begs asking is why was the concrete slab edge saw-cut?

:D