PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have any ideas

MichaelGardner
06-15-2009, 03:42 AM
Hi Everyone. I am new to this business, yet have been in the construction field for over 20 years. I got my license a couple of months ago and am having trouble getting the phone to ring. I have advertised and visited all of the real estate offices in my couny and the surrounding ones. I go back every few weeks. 1st time I introduced myself and left brochures and business cards. 2nd time I left notepads with my business name and number. It is pretty discouraging getting started in this business. Does anyone have any ideas for getting things going. What am I missing?
Thanks for any advice.

Richard Stanley
06-15-2009, 06:26 AM
You are probably doing the right thing.
There are more inspectors getting out of the business than are getting in.
Economy is slow and house sales are nearly non-existent in certain parts of the country - that may include yours.
Just keep on keepin' on. It is said that it takes 5 visits to get a familiarity with the prospective clients. Your main objective right now is to get them (agents) to put you on the list.

Michael Thomas
06-15-2009, 07:16 AM
This is a very tough business in which to get started, the only people I know who have been able to rapidly build volume in the first year or two are people with access to do some kind of very wide personal marketing network (for example, a mega-church), I've read accounts of people who are some kind of marketing genius who can do it some other way, but I've yet to meet them.

As for referrals from real estate agents, at least in my market at this point the surviving agents are the increasingly "pros", they already likely have a list of inspectors they use and they prefer "the devil they know to the devil they don't"... they have been around a while, they see a lot of inspectors come and go, and they don't regard you as really being in the business until you've been around for several years at least.