PDA

View Full Version : 3D Software

Michael Carson
09-29-2009, 05:47 PM
Just purchased 3D software Northern Focus Edition. Does anyone have any tips, tricks that I should be aware of.

Gunnar Alquist
09-29-2009, 06:19 PM
Just purchased 3D software Northern Focus Edition. Does anyone have any tips, tricks that I should be aware of.

"Northern Focus Edition"? What's that?

I have used 3D for years now and it works fine for me. Took me quite a while to set it up the way I wanted and I continue to tweak my comments on a regular basis. Not sure if the latest edition is easier to use, but 3D is OK. I used Borealis years ago, and theirs was easier, but not as nice looking. The finished report from 3D is a nice looking product.

Dan Harris
09-29-2009, 06:42 PM

From what I've been told 3D is more complex than others.
Since 3D is the only program that I've used, I never knew the difference.

I've been using it for almost 9 years now, and still learning new tricks/ lay out options, just by searching and playing with all the layout options built in the program.

Michael Carson
09-29-2009, 07:04 PM
"Northern Focus Edition"? What's that?

I have used 3D for years now and it works fine for me. Took me quite a while to set it up the way I wanted and I continue to tweak my comments on a regular basis. Not sure if the latest edition is easier to use, but 3D is OK. I used Borealis years ago, and theirs was easier, but not as nice looking. The finished report from 3D is a nice looking product.

3D sold a blank version of their software to a vendor here in the northwoods. What they have done was insert things that are unique to our climate along with a truck load of diagrams that you can insert on the fly. That is good, diagram of ice dams that I dont have to hunt for, etc. I quickly realized that unless you have the premier edition you are very limited as to what documents you can edit because of the limited word program. So, I had to update to premier.