PDA

View Full Version : Condensate Drain Line

Ryan Stouffer
10-01-2009, 11:31 AM
Is it permissible to allow the condensate drain line to drain onto the crawlspace floor. The floor is gravel.

Thanks,

Ryan

Ryan Stouffer
10-01-2009, 12:57 PM
New post

Billy Stephens
10-01-2009, 01:16 PM
Is it permissible to allow the condensate drain line to drain onto the crawlspace floor. The floor is gravel.

Thanks,

Ryan
No.

Eric Barker
10-01-2009, 06:31 PM
Agreed, it's wrong.

Marc M
10-01-2009, 08:47 PM
I think the code requires it to drain into potted plant, not to be confused with "pot plant" however.

Wayne Carlisle
10-02-2009, 07:58 AM
M1411.3 Condensate disposal. Condensate from all cooling
coils or evaporators shall be conveyed from the drain pan outlet
to an approved place of disposal. Condensate shall not discharge
into a street, alley or other areas where it would cause a
nuisance.

Would this create a nuisance?

Tom Rees
10-02-2009, 09:12 AM
Ryan, I am an inspector in Utah also. I see 95% of condensate drains insalled wrong. Mostly no trap in line. The reason being is that the furnace and A/C are covered by mechanical code and drains are in plumbing code.:D

Charles Sanders
10-02-2009, 09:30 AM
Out here in California, condensate lines drain into the sewerand must have a gap for clean out. Seems a lot of nasty stuff likes to grow in condensate.

csanders
San Diego

Debra Monte
10-02-2009, 12:20 PM
From the photo, it does appear that the condensate is draining directly into the gravel. However, did you check to see if there is a proper drain that is below the gravel. Obviously there is no lift pump. Did you ask about what is below the gravel?

Scott Patterson
10-02-2009, 12:25 PM
One problem with draining it under the home is the possibility of water collecting in the crawlspace.

I would say that it is wrong simply because you don't water in your crawlspace. It also lacks a trap on the line.

Jeffrey L. Mathis
10-02-2009, 01:24 PM
Re: draining to the sewer.