PDA

View Full Version : Black Plastic Sheets Showing Through the Mortar on Brick Home

Reggie Russell
03-06-2010, 04:12 PM
Hey Guys,

I inspected a brand new brick house today and saw the black plastic sheets protruding the mortar in several areas around the house. I am only in my second year of inspecting and I do not remember seeing this before. Is this something to bring up in a report?

Rick Cantrell
03-06-2010, 08:32 PM
Nothing to worry about.
Look nearby for the weep holes.

Rick Hurst
03-06-2010, 09:39 PM
Look for bigger game like the improper clearance between the brick veneer and the soil line.

rick

Michael Thomas
03-07-2010, 05:19 AM
Base flashing:

http://files.buildsite.com/dbderived-f/fortifiber/derived_files/derived205998.pdf

Reggie Russell
03-07-2010, 06:30 PM
Thanks for the replies. Always good info posted here! :)

Michael - so it is not unusual for this to be showing on the exterior? I know I haven't been doing this for very long but it is still the first time I have noticed this occurring.

Rick Cantrell
03-07-2010, 06:49 PM
If you look close you will see it on many, if not most homes.

Jerry Peck
03-07-2010, 07:14 PM
Thanks for the replies. Always good info posted here! :)

Michael - so it is not unusual for this to be showing on the exterior? I know I haven't been doing this for very long but it is still the first time I have noticed this occurring.

If you look close you will see it on many, if not most homes.

It is required to extend to the face of the brick veneer, so you should always see it, along with weep holes ... neither of which is usually seen. :eek:

Jerry Peck
03-07-2010, 07:15 PM
Look for bigger game like the improper clearance between the brick veneer and the soil line.

Brick veneer can extend down into the soil, as long as the cavity is fully grouted below the through wall flashing.

Mark T. Denton
03-08-2010, 01:10 PM