PDA

View Full Version : is it safe to put ladder this way

Peter louis
06-13-2010, 11:17 PM
this is a 24' alu 200 lbs extendable ladder on a shingle roof with out real fascia bodard. instead, it is metal gutter. it is scary to step on it. is it ok I put the ladder this way? any tips on climb on a ladder & walk on the roof?

I am new in this trade. Thank you for all your input.

Rick Cantrell
06-14-2010, 04:03 AM
Peter
If you have to ask if it's safe. then it's not.

I would not get on that ladder.

Michael Thomas
06-14-2010, 04:18 AM
As my wife frequently reminds me: "Dead inspectors write no reports."

John Dirks Jr
06-14-2010, 04:49 AM
Ladder safety video

YouTube - Ladder Safety (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BASYh-MVYlo&feature=player_embedded)

Markus Keller
06-14-2010, 06:04 AM
I've 'hooked' ladders onto the ridge like that many times. Is it safe? Hell no. Is it safer than leaning the ladder against the face? Sure.
You shouldn't need to run it that high though. In that position, besides falling, you run the risk of scraping/denting the aluminum capping. If that is Alu capping, looks like it to me.
Knowadays I lean the ladder against the wall and pin it up into the angle of the roof to keep it from moving side to side. At that position it tends to be high enough to see over the top and check out the roof.
If you are actually climbing onto the roof from that position to walk the ridge, STOP IMMEDIATELY. No reason for it. Good luck and stay alive.

Michael Thomas
06-14-2010, 06:29 AM
See the thread here:

http://www.inspectionnews.net/home_inspection/tools-equipment/13374-ladder-stand-off.html

Raymond Wand
06-14-2010, 06:30 AM
Use binoculars.

Peter louis
06-14-2010, 08:46 AM
I've 'hooked' ladders onto the ridge like that many times. Is it safe? Hell no. Is it safer than leaning the ladder against the face? Sure.

Thank you every one. Hi Markus, Do you mean you use a device to pin the ladder up on the roof, like stand off?

Markus Keller
06-14-2010, 09:52 AM