PDA

View Full Version : Bizzarre roof construction found during inspection

Trevor Hunter
03-29-2011, 11:37 AM
Hello,

I am new to all of this and was having a home inspection done on a house I plan to purchase only to find out that the roof (as shown below) was constructed by a moron. The seller maintains that "that's how the house was built and its fine" but our instructor had to do a triple take because he'd never seen anything done this poorly. All of the vertical 2x8's had been cut in half and "patched" with 6x6 plywood squares held in place with galvanized roofing nails and staples - as you can see, many of these patches have fallen off. As you can see in the pictures below, the roof has also shifted. Anyone's thoughts/advice would be appreciated. We are trying to get the seller to take care of this before we settle the deal, but they insist 'nothing's wrong' - hence my conundrum. Is this as unusual as I think it is? Thank you so much for your input!

Billy Stephens
03-29-2011, 12:22 PM
Trevor,

Have a Structural Engineer write a Remedy and get an estimate for the proper repairs.
* then be prepared to walk away and find another house.

chris mcintyre
03-29-2011, 05:47 PM
As you can see in the pictures below......

Unfortunately I can't tell anything from the pictures other than the bracing has been cut and is unorthodox for a site built roof.

If you are serious about buying the house then do as Billy said, get a PE and cost of repairs, at least then you know where you stand.

Then it becomes a case of are you willing to invest the extra money in the house if the seller will not make the repairs or give you a price reduction to cover the cost.

Jack Feldmann
03-29-2011, 06:00 PM
What they said........
By the way, was this a modular home?

John Kogel
03-29-2011, 07:30 PM