PDA

View Full Version : copper piping corrosion

Chip Roberson
08-07-2007, 10:34 AM
I noted this corrosion on some copper piping in a basement and would like to find out what the possible causes or concerns of this condition are.

Thanks Chip

Bruce Breedlove
08-07-2007, 11:32 AM
It could be flux in the solder.

Jerry Peck
08-07-2007, 11:49 AM
It could be flux in the solder.

Yep, certainly looks like the flux was not wiped off.

Scott Dana
08-07-2007, 11:53 AM
As a newbie inspector I'm still not clear on how best to identify copper pipe corrosion. Do you guys write up any time you see the green oxidation? What are some of the other signs that I should be on the lookout for in addition to what the picture shows. Thanks.

Rick Hurst
08-07-2007, 12:33 PM
Scott,

Green oxidation on copper is the same thing as rust is to iron.

It is evidence of a leak. I always write it up.

Scott Dana
08-08-2007, 12:27 PM
Is it really evidence that there's a leak or just that there is oxidation that may/can lead to leaking? I would be interested in know how you actually write it up.

Brian E Kelly
08-08-2007, 12:50 PM
As I see it all the corrosion (green stuff ) is on the joints and that is the result of a plumber not wiping his joints from the flux. This is not necessarily a leak or a future leak. Try wiping away a small amount next time with a wet rag and the pipe under should be clean.
There could be other issues as the pictures and my eyes are not the best.

Bob Harper
08-12-2007, 06:39 PM
Copper Pipe Information from PlumbingWorld.com (http://www.plumbingworld.com/cuno_info_page.html)

Generally, the green crud is from not wiping off the acid flux. FYI, a lot of schools teach techs to wipe the pipes down completely with flux to shine them up! No rinse cycle. I guess you could test the crud with litmus paper or wet it and sprinkle a little baking soda on it and look for a reaction but I don't know that is recommended anywhere.

HTH,
Bob

Chad Fabry
08-13-2007, 06:49 AM