PDA

View Full Version : Shingle Life Question

Todd Thomas
10-28-2007, 12:39 PM
Good Day…
I’m new to the profession and have an easy question for you old pros. How do you go about telling the age or gauge the life of an asphalt shingle?

Thanks,
Todd

Billy Stephens
10-28-2007, 01:36 PM
Good Day…
How do you go about telling the age or gauge the life of an asphalt shingle?
Thanks,
Todd

Todd,

I don't. All I report is condition.

Why would you want to state age, gauge,remaining warranty, remaining life of roof?

If it needs repair/replacement call in the Roofer.If there is an active warranty The Property Owner may take advantage of it.

Richard Rushing
10-28-2007, 02:45 PM
In the home inspection business, I don't have to find out or identify the warranty type composition shingle. However, as an insurance adjuster, I do-- every claim.

To effectively identify the proper shingle, I use the Haag Engineering shingle gauge:
Haag Education (http://www.haageducation.com/pub_view.asp?productID=1)

It is the industry standard. You will also find publications there on one of those pages that will assist you greatly in dealing with failure analysis.

If you ever get a chance, take the Haag Certified Roofing Inspector course. This is an expensive course, but well worth the money. The course I took, there were folks from almost every state in the union there and to a person, stated it was the best education value they have ever taken.

rr

Eric Barker
10-28-2007, 06:03 PM
Todd,

I look for granular erosion, cracking and curling. I also pay attention to the starter strips at the first course cutouts. I'll usually give a range of age, 3-5 years, 10+. I let the client know that my numbers are more of an guesstimate but I usually am pretty close.

Jerry McCarthy
10-29-2007, 07:54 AM