PDA

View Full Version : whats does eifs look like

daniel nantell
11-14-2007, 07:30 PM
I'm a recent graduate, and we were warned to watch out for it. Does anyone have a picture of the real stuff. Ive seen the 4 x 8 sheets of this stuff that is deteriorating at all the joints, a lot of cauling has been shoved it to hide the deteriorating , seems like it is on all electric homes built in the 70 and 80'S, thanks

Kevin Barre
11-14-2007, 07:44 PM
Well...first of all, it doesn't come in 4X8 sheets. It is a continuous exterior cladding applied in coats, much as real stucco is, but typically minus the expansion joints. And, unfortunately, also minus a proper water-shedding house wrap or drainage plane.
In my neck of the woods, anyway, the heyday was the early '90's. No one used it in the '70's. Even use (here) in the late 80's was very rare...but your area could differ as the product had been around prior to that.

All electric homes are not a factor.

Billy Stephens
11-14-2007, 09:07 PM
Does anyone have a picture of the real stuff.

Daniel,

Here you go.

Jim Luttrall
11-14-2007, 09:13 PM
There is no real middle ground on EIFS as far as I can tell, you love it (because it makes you money) or you hate it (because you understand it), or you don't really know that much about it (because you don't own it);)

Try this link
EIFSFACTS - The real facts about EIFS (http://www.hadd.com/eifs/)

EIFSFACTS.ORG
The Real Facts About EIFS
Brought to you by people who own it, not people who sell it.
This site is intended to serve as a central repository of information about the problems with EIFS

Scott Patterson
11-15-2007, 08:37 AM
Sorry to be blunt, but! I can not believe that any inspection school that is worth anything would not teach their students about EIFS, what it looks like and some very common things to lookout for.