PDA

View Full Version : What's better: salt water or chlorine pool?

liezljayne
03-15-2017, 04:40 AM
I'm just beginning the consultation process--getting quotes from various pool companies, deciding design details, etc. I want a rectangular pool without too many bells and whistles, so the biggest decision that I have to make is whether to get a chlorine pool or a salt water pool.

I have already done a significant amount of research on the internet about the pros and cons of each system. I'm aware that a salt water pool is still technically a chlorinated pool, just with a different way of producing the chlorine.

What I'm really asking for are personal experiences from current and former pool owners. Did you own a salt water or a chlorine pool? What was easy or convenient about it? What was expensive or difficult to maintain? Is it possible to have a chlorine pool without too strong of a smell, or one that isn't harsh on your skin, hair, and eyes? Any personal input would be appreciated.

Dom D'Agostino
03-15-2017, 06:37 AM
Here is Florida, I see plenty of each type of system. Frankly, it doesn't matter too much.

If you maintain your own pool, it may be easier to not transport liquid chlorine to and from the yard, vehicle & pool store. If you hire a pool service, it won't matter at all.

If you install a salt-chlorine generator, be aware the in-line cell is a maintenance item, and it periodically requires cleaning. After a certain amount of time (can be short in some instances) the cell must be replaced. Factor that in to your budget, they are not cheap.

Additionally, the chlorine generator is an electronic device, subject to the whims of circuit board failure (such as power surges, random failures, error codes, etc.). A chlorine tablet dispenser, however, requires very little maintenance.

A properly balanced pool doesn't have a "strong chlorine odor"; that odor typically indicates too little "free" chlorine, or other chemical imbalances.