PDA

View Full Version : inspector certifications

James O'Brien
01-10-2008, 02:52 PM
Hello to everyone,

I'm a fairly new home inspector in the salt lake valley. I found this web site and decided to try it out. I do have a question for everyone.

what licenses / certifications are available and or required to become a home inspector?

Jon Randolph
01-10-2008, 03:04 PM
There are several associations available, some good and others not so good.

Licensing depends on your state.

Jon Randolph
01-10-2008, 03:05 PM
BTW,

Welcome to the board

John Arnold
01-10-2008, 03:59 PM
Hello to everyone,

I'm a fairly new home inspector in the salt lake valley. I found this web site and decided to try it out. I do have a question for everyone.

what licenses / certifications are available and or required to become a home inspector?

James - Welcome to the board!
Certification/licensure differs by state, and sometimes, city. For instance, in PA there is a Home Inspection Law that we must comply with, but no state licensing. There is a license required in the city of Philadelphia, though. The state law requires us to be full members of a national organization, such as NAHI or ASHI, and to purchase E&O and liability in$urance.

Scott Patterson
01-10-2008, 04:22 PM
In Utah you can be working in the coal mine yesterday and have some cards printed and be inspecting multi-million dollar homes up in the resorts today! Sad but true!

Right now in our profession we do not have any true third party certifications for the profession. All of the current so called certifications are done in a rather self serving manner. The various organizations certify their own members. One calls all of the members certified if they pass a simple online exam; other organization certify their members after the complete a number of inspections and pass a national exam; another had a couple levels that require testing.