PDA

View Full Version : I walked away from one today!

Scott Patterson
06-23-2008, 12:11 PM
It only took ten minutes and three of those were walking around the house! It was one of the worst POS homes I have ever seen. Filth was to the point that I put on my full face respirator just to cut the stench. The roach population could have filed for their own zip code!

The young couple said it was a fixer-upper and that they were ready to do the work. I told them I just could not honestly do the inspection and that I felt guilty charging them my full fee. I told them that if they would just pay me for an hour of my time I would issue a limited report and they could cut their losses!

A few picks for your enjoyment. The pictures do not do the home justice! :D

Ted Menelly
06-23-2008, 12:22 PM
Been there, done that. I am a home inspector. Not a filth, bug and condemned building inspector. I have had clients that have wanted worse than that inspected in the past. I like to find out as much about the home as possible before any price goes along with my answer, If the answers add up to a dump like that I tell them to please call a contractor for cost repairs.

I absolutely refuse to become infested with roaches, flees, bedbugs, period. Not to mention basic health concerns.

Of course that's just me. I had enough of that in the old remodel days.

Ted

Jerry McCarthy
06-23-2008, 12:24 PM
Scott
We all have a limit of endurance, or should have. FWIW I believe you did the right thing. Hard to believe there are folks in Americal who live like that? (if you can call it living) :(

David Banks
06-23-2008, 03:08 PM
Hey Rick, that sucks!
Here's one I walked away from a few weeks ago. The client wasn't there. I called her on the phone, told her I wouldn't inspect it and fortunately talked her out of buying it. It would have been an all day job for a small house fee. I was happy to walk with no fee.

I guess thats why its called Camp Verde :)

Matt Fellman
06-24-2008, 09:31 AM