PDA

View Full Version : How do you inspect a window?

JD Johnson
09-10-2008, 06:46 AM
I know that may seem like an easy to answer question, but I had an issue arise that makes me wonder how others test window functionality.

I've been an inspector for 7 years, and have performed over 3500 inspections, my company prides ourselves in being thorough and going the extra steps to be diligent.

I recently received a call from a client whose home I inspected 4 months prior. To make a long story short, she discovered that many of the windows do not tilt inward for cleaning, because the component that allows the window to hinge inward, is broken. I returned to the property to check her complaint, and after having the windows demonstrated, I understand what she is talking about. The hinge part that allows the window to tilt is concealed so there was no visible defect, and our window test protocol is to verify that they open, close, and lock - additionally we check the integrity of the seal and look for damage around the window frame. But, we don't tilt windows inward - just as we don't test all the cooking features of a kitchen range, we test for basic functionality.

So my question to the rest of the industry, is am I checking windows incorrectly? Do others tilt every window inward to verify full functionality? The ASHI SOP says that we should inspect a representative number of windows, but doesn't say how.

Also any suggestions of how to handle the claim is appreciated, as the client stated the repairs would be nearly $1000.

Thanks -

John Achin
09-10-2008, 07:38 AM
Tilting windows in can be costly. I tilted a brand new Pella window in to clean it in my own home and cracked the glass. I would not want that to happen at a home inspection. I interpret the SOPs to mean functionality as opening, closing, and locking.

Dom D'Agostino
09-10-2008, 07:39 AM