PDA

View Full Version : FEMA inspections

Wm. Hattaway
09-27-2008, 10:27 AM
Good afternoon, I have just recently joined this forum. I am a residential appraiser by trade but have been activated by PB Disasters to go into Texas for inspections on behalf of FEMA. This will be my first deployment. May I ask of those who have done this type of work if you could tell me what type of tools I should take with me. I know PB Disasters will tell us once we are in Texas but I would like to get the tools before I head out there. Perhaps you could also tell me some effective ways to do the work that will be required. Also if this is the wrong forum for this question I apologize. Thank you for your time, Bill.

Stuart Brooks
09-27-2008, 11:16 AM
Good afternoon, I have just recently joined this forum. I am a residential appraiser by trade but have been activated by PB Disasters to go into Texas for inspections on behalf of FEMA. This will be my first deployment. May I ask of those who have done this type of work if you could tell me what type of tools I should take with me. I know PB Disasters will tell us once we are in Texas but I would like to get the tools before I head out there. Perhaps you could also tell me some effective ways to do the work that will be required. Also if this is the wrong forum for this question I apologize. Thank you for your time, Bill.

Didn't you have to take the FEMA inspection class? The PARR class I went to covered all that in addition to using the FEMA computers and software.
Shouldn't need any much more than a tape measure or if you want to get real fancy, a laser distance tool. Of course, I could see where a GPS mapping system could help you find your way around.

Wm. Hattaway
09-27-2008, 12:25 PM
The training is next week, then into the field. I wanted to know ahead of time though.

Alton Darty
09-27-2008, 03:09 PM