Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    John Stephenson's Avatar
    John Stephenson Guest

  2. #2
    Richard Rushing's Avatar
    Richard Rushing Guest

    Default Re: Level I, II, III

    Fireplace Inspections:
    The National Fire Protection Association and I, recommend an NFPA 211, Level II inspection of any fireplace when a home is sold. Such an inspection, performed by a qualified fireplace specialist, might uncover additional problems not apparent to me and is strongly recommended. For safety reasons, all fireplace problems should be corrected before use. A list of Chimney Safety Institute of America 'Certified Chimney Sweeps' is available online at

    Differing levels:

    Level I : is a visual inspection of readily accessible areas of the chimney structure and flue and basic appliance installation and connection. There must be a lack of obstructions or combustible deposits in the flue.
    Level II: includes Level I visual inspection. Proper clearances from combustibles in accessible locations, proper construction and condition of accessible portions of the chimney structure and all enclosed flues, all accessible portions the chimney exterior and interior, including areas within accessible attics, crawl spaces, and basements. Most Include inspection by video camera scanning.
    Level III: includes Level II inspection. Proper construction and condition of concealed portions of the chimney structure and flues (this requires demolition or removal of portions of the building where necessary). This type of inspection is used for cause and origin fire investigations or when a chimney has known damages such as a chimney fire or lightning strike.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts