Jason Schmidt Guest

Default condo inspection

Good morning,

I just got a call today about 3 condo's to inspect. Question is what to look for in a condo. I have never done a condo before. Is everything the same as a home inspection. I mean as electrical panels, a/c and heating. Does a condo have access to the attic. New to me. kinda nervous. sorry about that. i should of post this some where else.

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by Jason Schmidt; 12-05-2008 at 08:39 AM. Reason: wrong area to post
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: condo inspection

Jason, relax most condo inspections are much easier than the typical home inspection. First find out what type of condos you are inspecting such as, does each unit have a crawlspace and it's own roof. Or are they multi story units that do not have a crawlspace or roof directly over them. Find out if the exteriors and roofs are part of the condo associations responsibility, if so exteriors and roofs are commonly excluded from condo inspections. Be aware that if the units have crawlspaces that you inspect they may be combined with other units. In this case you only inspect the area below the unit you are inspecting, however if you were to notice a plumbing leak, standing water, termites, etc. in the adjoining units crawlspace you would want mention it in the report as it could eventually affect the unit that your inspecting.

Most likely you will want to put in some type of condo disclaimer in the beginning of the report. Here is an example, it is not exactly what I use but it gives you an idea of what to say.