Reggie Russell Guest

Question Home Inspection on rainy days?

Hey Guys,

I am new to this profession so forgive me for my ignorance on this but I have been wondering about this for some time now. How do you guys handle doing a home inspection when it rains? I wouldn't think you would be able to do as good of a job because of it, especially on the outside. Do you often reschedule or just go with it and do the best you can? What about having to disclose to the buyer that due to the weather your inspection of the exterior and roof was hindered? You don't walk on a roof when it's raining do you? I know there can be some benefits as well, like catching an active roof leak in the attic and such. But if I was a home buyer, I would want the conditions conducive to having the best inspection possible. What are your thoughts? Thanks guys for all of the help and advice you give on here!

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Home Inspection on rainy days?

If I didn't work in the rain, I wouldn't work much.
    I do walk roofs when it rains; it depends on your level of experience what you will feel comfortable with. New roofs are much easier--- be careful when/ if walking an algae covered roof that has a decent slope.
    The rain hinders part of the inspection, but helps in ways as well. I wish I could recreate all 4 seasons during the inspection--- it would make it much easier to catch everything.

Reggie,

You do it like you would do any other inspection ... in the heat ... in the cold ... in the wind ... in the rain ... in the snow (okay, snow days may be different, but you disclaim what you cannot see) ...

The only things which stopped me (I was in South Florida) were Hurricanes and Tropical Storms, other than that, the main had to go through ... er ... I mean the inspection had to go on.