Tom Moss Guest

Default Proffessional advise

Hi,
    I'm in the process of purchasing a property. It is my first time owning a property. I have a few questions and any answers or tips will be very helpful.

I offered on a 4plex in WI. It's a foreclosed property and is currently winterized. The bank that owns the property isn't willing to cover the cost of de-winterizing the property; they insist I that I pay for it. Is that common that the buyer pays for de-winterizing? How much do you think it may cost to de-winterize a 4plex (3bd in each unit with underground parking in the basements)?

Does a regular inspection find whether there's led in the paint?

Thank you!
    Tom

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Michael Larson Guest

Default Re: Proffessional advise

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Moss View Post
    Hi,
    I'm in the process of purchasing a property. It is my first time owning a property. I have a few questions and any answers or tips will be very helpful.

I offered on a 4plex in WI. It's a foreclosed property and is currently winterized. The bank that owns the property isn't willing to cover the cost of de-winterizing the property; they insist I that I pay for it. Is that common that the buyer pays for de-winterizing? How much do you think it may cost to de-winterize a 4plex (3bd in each unit with underground parking in the basements)?

Does a regular inspection find whether there's led in the paint?

Thank you!r
    Tom
    Based on the number of "winterized" properties I have seen over the last few years i would proceed very cautiously.

Too often some one has turned the water back on and then did not properly re winterized the system. This leads to broken pipes and equipment.

If you pay to de winterized you need to consider if you are also aquiring the liability for any damage that happens when the system is repressurized.