John Blake Guest

Default Second Layer of Shingles

I’m a real estate agent not an inspector so forgive my ignorance for this question but I would like too know what the science and your practical experience is regarding putting on a second layer of shingles on an roof without removing the first? This is for roofing in southern Ontario. As you know this used to be common practice in the past.

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by John Blake; 10-23-2009 at 07:12 AM. Reason: spelling error
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Second Lawyer of Shingles

John,

Here in CA, code allows a maximum of 2 layers of shingles on a roof. However, I believe that some manufacturers do not warranty shingles as a second layer. My own personal observations have been that second layers of shingles do not last as long as single layers, but this is just observation, not a scientific observation. If you are looking for specifics, I suggest you consult with the shingle manufacturer.

Department of Redundancy Department
    Supreme Emperor of Hyperbole
    http://www.FullCircleInspect.com/

Smile Re: Second Lawyer of Shingles

For years the UBC allowed up to 2 overlays. This means 3 layers total.
    The roof had to have proper support (snow load etc.) . In Minnesota 24" oc rafters with 1/2 " H clipped plywood was sufficent. In my 30 years of roofing ,3 layers was common.The manufacture's in ARMA all allowed this with no difference in warranty but recommended "nesting" as the installation procedure. All always stated the preferred was to tear off . You will find multiple layers for years until the existing stock of roofs are replaced. In all cases the areas used the deck strength as the most common criteria for allowing any layover. The "nesting" as well as the "racking " installation refered to in another post are still in most installation instructions, ARMA and NRCA manuals.

Mike Moser

Ted Menelly Guest

Default Re: Second Layer of Shingles

Quote Originally Posted by John Blake View Post