Default Re: CPSC releases clarification of its position on FTP

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Thomas View Post
    Agreed.
    I think the CPSC is pretty much worthless. Worrying over insignificant specks but ignoring the elephant in the room. About the only thing I use of theirs is the old aluminum wire brochure.
    Somebody find some lead in the paint and that might get their attention.
    Of course one would have to be realistic in that they don't have any real clout if the manufacturer is out of business so spending money on a study would not result in a recall or lessening the danger to consumers.
    A local news show did a fairly decent report the other day

Breaker Box Fire Hazard | NBC Dallas-Fort Worth

Jim Luttrall
    www.MrInspector.net
    Plano, Texas

James Duffin Guest

This report is why I never say a FPE panel should be replaced. I just say in my inspection report that it should be checked by a licensed electrical contractor. Also when, as an electrician, I am asked to evaluate a panel for a buyer or seller I check for visible damage to the panel and refer them to this report. It is my position that you have to use the 'official" documentation that is available and not pass along urban horror stories as fact. yomv

Quote Originally Posted by James Duffin View Post
    This report is why I never say a FPE panel should be replaced. I just say in my inspection report that it should be checked by a licensed electrical contractor. Also when, as an electrician, I am asked to evaluate a panel for a buyer or seller I check for visible damage to the panel and refer them to this report. It is my position that you have to use the 'official" documentation that is available and not pass along urban horror stories as fact. yomv
    I disagree.
    If I was a municipal inspector, I would likely take that course but I am not.