Thread: Log Homes

Default Log Homes

Hello to all,

I have been inspecting homes for 6 years now and have never inspected a log cabin. Tomorrow will be my first. Are there any tips or things I should look out for that anyone knows of that would be helpful? Your comments or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    This is my first post...newbie to InspectionNews.

Thanks,

Scott Storlie

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Log Homes

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Storlie View Post
    Hello to all,

I have been inspecting homes for 6 years now and have never inspected a log cabin. Tomorrow will be my first. Are there any tips or things I should look out for that anyone knows of that would be helpful? Your comments or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Scott Storlie
    I have attached what I use and what I use when I teach. I also give this to folks when I inspect a log home. Log homes are unique and have unique issues. My first suggestion it to stay up tonight and Google and research all you can on log homes. What I'm providing you has been compiled over several years and it combines information from many sources. It will help you but you also need to know about log homes.

Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Scott Patterson; 03-10-2011 at 01:55 PM.
    Scott Patterson, ACI
    Spring Hill, TN
    www.traceinspections.com

Thanks Scott. Great info...exactly what I need. I will take your advice and study up tonight. I have already been online to check out loghomeology.com. which was helpful but not from an inspection standpoint like yours. Thanks a lot as it looks like you took great time and effort to compile such as list.

James Duffin Guest

My three biggies have been rot, water infiltration, and shoddy workmanship from DIY'ers.

Darrel Hood Guest

Scott,
    Thanks for the "checklist". It is excellent.

Darrel Hood
    DILIGENT PROPERTY SERVICES

Thank you, Scott. May I keep a copy of this pdf?