Kathy Thompson Guest

Question Pay Structure for "Newbies"

We have had our inspection company for 11 years. Last year my husband passed away and I am keeping the business going. Now that business is picking up I want to hire another inspector but....for those of you who have been at this for a while, what type of a pay structure would I put him on. The guy I have in mind has been doing remoldeling for over 15 years and has some construction background. Do I just start him out on a flat rate? If so, what would be fair? I would like to use him as a sub-contractor which means he will have to have his own insurance. I plan on getting him into ASHI and also sending him to classes for further education.
    Any input you all could give me would be appreciated! As you can tell I'm new at this side of the business.

Kathy from OHIO!

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: Pay Structure for "Newbies"

Does the state you work in require a license? If so, he'll probably have to attend HI classes before he could become licensed.

Did you husband have other inspectors working (or still working) for him?

Are you yourself licensed or knowledgable of the home inspection business and requirements in your state?

Just curious,
    Rick

Quote Originally Posted by Kathy Thompson View Post
    We have had our inspection company for 11 years. Last year my husband passed away and I am keeping the business going. Now that business is picking up I want to hire another inspector but....for those of you who have been at this for a while, what type of a pay structure would I put him on. The guy I have in mind has been doing remoldeling for over 15 years and has some construction background. Do I just start him out on a flat rate? If so, what would be fair? I would like to use him as a sub-contractor which means he will have to have his own insurance. I plan on getting him into ASHI and also sending him to classes for further education.