adamski Guest

Default Electrical panel replacing

hi I'm a licensed contractor with no electrical license, recently I have bought a house witch has an old panel, my plan is to replace it for new one, can I do the job my self as long as I get the permit from the city?? I live in ontario Thank you.

I have heard from a friend of mine that as long as you a home owner you can apply for permit and do the job yourself, is this truth??

Similar Threads:
    Inspection Referral

James Duffin Guest

Default Re: Electrical panel replacing

You can in NC...not sure about Canada...

Snowbird (this means I'm retired and migrate between locations), FL/MI

Most areas in the lower 48 may allow usually ONLY for owner Occupants for work otherwise requiring a license, still requiring permit and inspections, and generally only those not planing to sell or rent the premisis in the near/foreseable future (usually six months or so following the completion work) and actually, legitimately personally occupying the premises as their legal residence, before and after completion of the work.

You'll have to ask the local Electrical Service Authority and coordinate with them if you may. Whether or not you can is another question entirely.

DIY, Homeowner, Homebuyer questions belong in that special area of the board, not on the technical areas of the forum. You may find your topic question has been moved to that area in the future.

Only the local building department can tell you for sure. In many areas, a home owner can do a lot of work on their own house. Some areas will not allow a home owner change out an electrical panel.

Be sure and notify your family and loved ones of where your life insurance policies are located prior to that electrical panel replacement.

You just never know....

rick

You were asking about your service before. You need to install a 200 amp main breaker in your new panel.