Joseph Stevens Guest

Default New to flat roofs

I am a newer inspector and I don't often see flat roofs around here.

I believe this is an EPDM roof at it appears to be stretched over the wall to the floor with nothing under supporting. There is no metal flashing on the top of the parapet wall. Is any part of this installation acceptable? Is a flashing required on top of the parapet wall? Any other issues here other than the obvious rubber lifting on the corner of the wall in pic3.

Thanks for the help.

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: New to flat roofs

A similar but smaller roof.

How much water can a small flat roof hold?

Until the 'load weight' becomes unacceptable?? How's that calculated??

Shouldn't a roofer be able to get a 5 by 9 foot rectangle to drain???

It's EPDM and roofer saws they use it for pool linings - client didn't want any pools on the roof :-)

***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    We know why you fly: because the bus is too expensive and the railroad has a dress code...
    www.atozinspector.com

2 great examples of garbage work.
    Aluminum or clay capping would obviously be better on the parapets.
    A good roofer would build up a slope on the roof surface prior to installing the membrane. This is typically done with roofing approved insulation board.
    Obviously both roofers did lousy jobs. We unfortunately don't know whether the roofer did it that way because he doesn't care or that's all he got paid for.
    Either way, tear-off and replace now or wait until it starts leaking.

www.aic-chicago.com
    773/844-4AIC
    "The Code is not a ceiling to reach but a floor to work up from"

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Gault View Post
    How much water can a small flat roof hold?