Default Not an HI, but love the forum!

Yes, it's true - I'm just a lowly insurance surveyor, and a new one at that. But I'm super curious by nature, and like to learn about things beyond what I need to know for my job. I also have residential construction/remodeling experience, and much to my delight have been able to contribute to a few discussions; hopefully my knowledge will increase to the point where I can do it more often.

The thing I like most about forums like this is the generosity people show in sharing their experience (and their puzzles) with others. I've learned so much just in a week or two. Thanks very much to all those who contribute!

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: Not an HI, but love the forum!

Commericial lines ? Who do you work for?

Steven Turetsky, UID #16000002314
    homeinspectionsnewyork.com
    eifsinspectionsnewyork.com

I work for Mueller Services Inc., and so far do strictly residential, mostly single-family dwellings, occasionally a duplex. Occupancy verifications, exterior and exterior/interior surveys. Pretty superficial as far as problems go; a lot is for replacement cost estimates. No claims. The aims are different from HI, so the methods are, too.

Well Kristi,

What you are doing is a start, get experienced, and see where you can take it.

Steven Turetsky, UID #16000002314
    homeinspectionsnewyork.com
    eifsinspectionsnewyork.com

Quote Originally Posted by Steven Turetsky View Post
    Well Kristi,

What you are doing is a start, get experienced, and see where you can take it.
    Exactly! And by the time I'm an HI, the industry will have recovered...that's the idea, anyway. Meanwhile I get to see quite a variety of houses, inside and out. I also take photos for my own reference when I find something interesting.

I see quite a few returned vets buying up houses. Maybe that will help the building industry a bit.