Thread: What is this?

Tim Sharp Guest

Default What is this?

I'm new to the home inspection business so this might be a simple item for most. I was looking at houses with my daughter last weekend and we saw this on the back patio. I wondered if it might have something to do with termite treatment but it didn't look like any baiting system I've seen. What do you think?

***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: What is this?

that's a cap, it screws down tight.
    could be many different things depending on other evidence you mmay find.
    Simplest wwould be a capped drain line in the slab foundation.
    worst would be an abandoned oil tank
    could also be an access to an underground drain line from roof or yard drainage.
    open it and take a wiff

Looks like a base for a table or umbrella or something. Where on the patio is it?

EDIT: Nevermind, Wayne's right.

Do not think of knocking out another person's brains because he differs in opinion from you. It would be as rational to knock yourself on the head because you differ from yourself ten years ago.
    - James Burgh, 1754.

It's a pair of sunglasses you idiot!

An improper clean out cover, possibly even a test clean out cover installed to test the system and the plumber forgot to remove it.

More likely, though, the screw in clean out cover was broken and that was installed, or (worse) the clean out fitting is broken and a screw in cover will now longer fit, thus the use of that.

Jerry Peck
    Construction/Litigation/Code Consultant - Retired
    www.AskCodeMan.com

Quote Originally Posted by Benjamin Thompson View Post
    It's a pair of sunglasses you idiot!

Hee Hee, I liked that one. Belly laugh.

Do not think of knocking out another person's brains because he differs in opinion from you. It would be as rational to knock yourself on the head because you differ from yourself ten years ago.