Lee Warren Guest

Default Testing the microwave with a cell phone?

Hello everyone. I am new to this site, so I wanted to wish all my colleagues a hello first. I am an inspector in the DFW area, and i have a question that I wanted to pose. i sit on the Inspector Committee for my local Realtor association. One of the other committee members mentioned that he found on the net a way to test microwaves. According to him, you can put a cell phone in the microwave, close the door, and try to call it. If the call goes through, then the unit is not sealing properly and there is a possible radiation leak. Keep in mind this is without turning on the unit. I know that should go without saying, but still.

Anyway, I just wanted to toss this out to you all to see if there is any accuracy in this method. If not, does anyone have an efficient way to test if the unit seals up properly? I just don't want to try this method, possibly run the risk of scaring the hell out of a client, if the method is bogus.

Your input would be appreciated...

Lee Warren
    Prospect Inspectors, Inc.
    Professional Inspector License #8411
    469-682-0341

Similar Threads:
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: Testing the microwave with a cell phone?

"There is no exception to the rule that every rule has an exception." -James Thurber, writer and cartoonist (1894-1961)
    www.ArnoldHomeInspections.com

Lee Warren Guest

Good deal. Thank you for the link. I had actually searched the archives for this question, but for some reason I didn't get anything. Thank you again.

Leak protection is based on the length of the wave. The screen on the glass and any non metal gaps is made to some sub-multiple of the quarter wave length. Cell phones use 380 Mhz to 1.9 Ghz, microwave ovens use 2.45 Ghz. The lengths may end up being some sub-multiple but I would not bet on it.

The beatings will continue until morale has improved. mgt.

Quote Originally Posted by Lee Warren View Post