Brian Harwood Guest

Default Exposed Wiring In Pantry On A New Circuit

Recent inspection where gas range was replaced with electric. Wiring was run in the wall heading toward the main panel. Small detour in the pantry where the wiring ran up the wall behind ventilated shelving to the attic and then to the panel. Should this not be run in plastic conduit at a minimum to prevent damage and possible electrical shock?

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: Exposed Wiring In Pantry On A New Circuit

The cable insulation already provides a means to protect against electrical shock. Type NM cable is also allowed to closely follow the building surface. IMO I would not consider that cable subject to damage and no additional protection would be required.

All answers based on unamended National Electrical codes.

Sorry, Jim, I am not an electrician, but I believe that wiring is indeed exposed and subject to damage.
    All it would take is an ice skate shoved into the corner. ( I know it's Florida, but they skate in Florida. Or maybe it would be a machete.)

It is a flaky way to pull in new wire. A better way is to cut a small hole in the drywall top and bottom and fish the wire up inside the wall cavity. Doing this might have added 1/2 hour to the install job. Every competent electrician has fish tape and knows how to use it, but this guy didn't think it was necessary.

The other way is to install conduit, rigid or flexible.

In these pics, two outlets were installed in a closet, here we go agin.
    It is ugly but I made no comment about this.

***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Last edited by John Kogel; 07-17-2012 at 01:13 PM.
    John Kogel, RHI, BC HI Lic #47455
    www.allsafehome.ca

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post