Default Heart Rescue - Would You Know What To Do?

Inspection Referral

Default Re: Heart Rescue - Would You Know What To Do?

What happens whey you click "Freak out"?

Jerry Peck
    Construction/Litigation/Code Consultant - Retired
    www.AskCodeMan.com

It says you failed under testing!

Yes, I believe I would have a basic idea of what to do.

Completed my first CPR instructor class in 1975. Yes, 1975. I have been taking and teaching CPR classes for over 35 years. I have been a certified EMT in two different states. Took a CPR and AED refresher class about 2 months ago.

"The Code is not a peak to reach but a foundation to build from."

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry Peck View Post
    What happens when you click "Freak out"?
    It doesn't offer the correct 3rd option.

Before starting chest compressions, you make darn sure the airway is clear and the person actually needs chest compressions, which can break ribs and land a person in the hospital and you the life saver in court.

You don't call 911, you get a bystander to call 911, and report back that they have done so. Seesh. No, it's good but misses a couple of things.

The guy may have passed out from choking on a piece of pork. Now, you've broken his ribs and stopped his heart with a shock device, good one.

ABCD, always in that order.
    Airway - is the airway open? You put on a rubber glove or use a plastic bag and check inside the mouth. Finger sweep.
    Breathing - is there any movement of air?
    Circulation - I didn't see the rescuer check for a pulse. You check the artery on the side of the throat, or the wrist. No pulse, you go to chest compressions.

Deadly bleeding - if the person has a pulse, you go to D, check for blood.

Last edited by John Kogel; 07-24-2012 at 11:58 AM. Reason: added abcd
    John Kogel, RHI, BC HI Lic #47455
    www.allsafehome.ca

A-Airway
    B-Breathing
    C-Circulation
    D-Disability
    E-Exposure
    F-Fluids
    G-Glucose