Thread: Arthropoda

Default Arthropoda

Generally, I do not comment on bugs of any kind, unless they are out of control. I have commented on wasps/hornets when there are a lot of nests and evidence of animal intrusion in the foundation crawlspace area.

But, what do you think about potentially poisonous spiders? I took the first pic in the crawlspace of today's inspection and then downloaded the second from the internet. The second pic is identified as a brown recluse and my little friend sure looks like the same type of critter. However, I am not an expert on arachnids.

So, what do you think, should I comment on this critter?

***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Crawl Space Creeper
    Department of Redundancy Department
    Supreme Emperor of Hyperbole
    http://www.FullCircleInspect.com/

Default Re: Arthropoda

I would. What can it hurt to comment on it and recommend a professional check the place out?

"There is no exception to the rule that every rule has an exception." -James Thurber, writer and cartoonist (1894-1961)
    www.ArnoldHomeInspections.com

I think yours is one of the 'false brown recluse spider' types.

Notice that the 'violin' on the brown recluse photo is dark on light background, and yours has a light 'violin' on dark background.

No, it does not do any harm to say 'I saw this spider which looks like it might be, but is UNconfirmed to be, a brown recluse - I recommend you get a properly trained pest control person out to look at it, shown them this photo too, because the spider may be gone when they get out here.

Brown Recluse Spider

AMNews: Aug. 5, 2002. Convenient culprit: Myths surround the brown recluse spider ... American Medical News

Jerry Peck
    Construction/Litigation/Code Consultant - Retired
    www.AskCodeMan.com

No its not a brown recluse.

I enlarged the picture and it appears to have 8 eyes, which a recluse has only 6.