Default phase 1 enviromental inspections

I was contacted to day by ESA about getting training to do phase 1 enviromental inspections.

Anybody doing them? Any warnings or suggestions?

Thanks.

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: phase 1 enviromental inspections

I've had them done as part of the development process that had gov't money involved. It was more of a records check to determine what may have been located on the site (gas stations, industrial activity) that might have involved fuel storage or chemical use. Plus a field visit to look for what is, and might have been there. Any steel drums stacked or dumped, that sort of thing. It was done by an engineering firm.

As an inspector, I'd have no problem doing the field side of a Phase I, but the rest would be out of my comfort zone. Can't imagine the liability involved.

I do remember,now that I think about it, having someone ask me about doing a Phase I on a SF home purchase. I think someone was being very confused.

Mark Fisher
    Allegany Inspection Service - Cumberland MD 21502 - 301-722-2224
    Home Inspections, Mold Testing, Thermal Imaging

Only experience I had was selling a commercial property and the buyer wanted a phase 1, we split the cost. I was amazed at how easy it must have been to put that (computer generated) report together for $1400. I think it would be a very lucrative business.

END GLOBAL WHINING

ASTM wrote the Standards. I would recommend training through them:
    ASTM International - Training Courses - ASTM Phase I & Phase II Environmental Site Assessment Processes

www.dapkusinspections.com
    www.chicagoinfraredthermalimaging.com
    Infraspection Institute Certified Level III Thermographer # 8510

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Penn View Post
    I was contacted to day by ESA about getting training to do phase 1 enviromental inspections.

Anybody doing them? Any warnings or suggestions?

Thanks.
    And ESA makes its money selling education classes!