Thread: Open Apology

Default Open Apology

Within the last two weeks or so I posted into a thread that the NEC required load balancing on the bus bars of the service main panelboard.

Well, I've dug backwards from 2011 through 2002 of code books - Article 408 and cannot not find a supporting statement. So, I apopogize for my error.

However, if you think of panelboard as a Multiwire Circuit, 2 hot conductors and one shared Neutral then you can understand the benefits of balancing the loads on each bus to take advantage of the shared Neutral.

How's that for "Justification"?

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: Open Apology

Apology accepted.

And yes, it does make sense. When I worked as an electrician many years ago, the electrical plans for a restaurant specified where to place each circuit and attempted to balance the loads.

Department of Redundancy Department
    Supreme Emperor of Hyperbole
    http://www.FullCircleInspect.com/

Garry Blankenship Guest

Your justification is just fine The code and manufacturers pretty much have our backs on load balancing at building service locations. The code requires either the same size neutral wire or at least close to the same size, so even in the unlikely event of substantial imbalance the neutral can carry it. It's next to impossible to create a totally imbalanced load with the landing / termination / circuit breaker locations in a panel alternating as they do. It is utility companies that are concerned about and expert at load balancing. Their goal is to see there is no imbalance and there-by no need for a return conductor, ( neutral wire ), to the dam / gen plant / wind farm etc. In the utility distribution stations, they actually switch phases to correct / eliminate load imbalances. That is a dynamic process dependent upon which supply lines are showing what imbalances at any given time.

Snowbird (this means I'm retired and migrate between locations), FL/MI