Thread: ASHI

Jeffrey L. Mathis Guest

Default ASHI

I am contemplating joining ASHI. It's a bit pricey but I wonder if any here are members and their thoughts or thoughts of those who don't belong and why.
    I am, of course, assuming I can pass the tests and whatever hazing they inflict on me. The nearest ASHI member inspector to me is 50 miles away.

Jeff Mathis

Similar Threads:
    Crawl Space Creeper

Default Re: ASHI

Practice carrying a concrete block where ever you go for three days. You can not put it down at any time. If you sit down it has to be on your lap. !st hazzzzzing test.

Hi Jeffrey. I am an ASHI Certified Inspector and member since 2004. I recently performed an inspection from someone who found me listed on the ASHI website. A few of those, and I'm satisfied to justify the cost.

Here, new home contracts often list to ASHI certification as one of the requirements. The perception of ASHI varies from state to state depending on licensing requirements and strength of competing associations. Again, here ASHI national is more recognized than the others.

There are two ASHI chapters in NC. One meets in Greensboro (2.5 hrs) and other in Charlotte (4hrs). Neither very close to you.

I joined national ASHI and the Greensboro chapter about a year ago. Got 4 jobs directly from the national ASHI locater service in 2 months. Membership paid for itself immediately just in direct business. Received several more jobs directly from ASHI locator since.

There is an ASHI internal forum similar to this. Not nearly as much traffic and a much smaller pool of people to answer questions. I wanted to move and found a job thru the msg board.

So yes, joining ASHI is worthwhile even in NC. The Greensboro chapter has 2 active members of the licensing board and 1 past board member. Great way to get one on one time with board members to see what they are really thinking. Also get a heads up unoffically about upcoming issues.