Matthew Liang Guest

Default CPVC hot-water piping issues

I am a new inspector. It is the 1st time I see CPVC piping for hot/cool water. Is there anything I should comment properly?

The heater is electric.

Thanks a lot.

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: CPVC hot-water piping issues

I have no problem with the material. I saw a condo with it, yesterday, One thing to look for is that it is properly supported and the the glue isn't gooped all over the joints. Excess glue can actually weaken the plastic.

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.

Its approved for hot and cold water in most if not all areas.

It is an approved material. However it does become brittle over time and it is subject to freezing and cracking so depending on your location you may want to include additional information.
    Also the loop that connects what appears to be the cold supply to the relief drain pie has some device I could not see well and do not know why it is there?

Jeff Zehnder - Home Inspector, Raleigh, NC
    http://www.jjeffzehnder.com/
    http://carolinahomeinspections.com/

That there TPR discharge pipe should not be connected to anything except the relief valve.

"There is no exception to the rule that every rule has an exception." -James Thurber, writer and cartoonist (1894-1961)
    www.ArnoldHomeInspections.com

Is that some sort of air hammer control device at the top of the "T" on the cold water inlet?

I, too, have never seen that.