Tino Volpe Guest

Default High attic humidity

Hi everyone I'm a newbie here. Looks like a great site. Seen some posts about this subject and I have a similar issue with high humidity in my attic that is driving me crazy. A couple of years ago had a new roof put on. The roof has 3 passive vents on the back of the house and the roofer added ridge vents. It's a HIP roof. I put in soffit vents all around. There was a little mold on the sheathing but I didn't think much of it. The bathroom fans were vented through the soffit. Well the mold situation exploded all over the attic. I had insurance coverage for it so had the mold removed, all the sheathing sealed, all the old insulation removed, then the attic was air sealed from the rest of the house. The bathroom fans were vented through the roof. Had a box put around the attic drop down stairs. New insulation blown in. I put a humidity/Temperature meter up there to monitor and installed an attic fan in one of the passive vents with humidity and temperature control. Well, the fan runs all the time because my other meter is showing the humidity at 90%! On cold dry days the humidity outside is registering at 30% and on the second floor in the bathroom at 45% yet the attic is registering 90% Where can this moisture be coming from. The fan doesn't seem to be doing anything. Then it runs the humidity doesn't decrease at all. I have to shut it down at the breaker cause it's costing me a fortune in electricity and not doing anything. So my questions are:
    1. Where can this moisture be coming from
    2. Is having ridge vents, soffit vents, passive vents and a fan somehow short circuiting the ventilation pattern. Should I block off the two passive vents to allow the fan to pull air through the soffits.