Thread: No rain cap

Default No rain cap

Good morning all, first I must introduce myself, I am a home inspector in Pennsylvania and have been a member of this list for nearly a year now. I never have had to post in the past, because every time I had a question I always found the answer in an old thread. I have been unable to locate one for this particular situation however. I inspected a house yesterday where both the wood burning fireplaces were missing rain caps. When I got on the roof I found that neither of the flues extended above the crown and both had a wire mesh permanently attached. I am trying to determine how best to write this up. I typically suggest a cap be installed, however with the flue flush there is nothing to attach one to. The permanent mesh also poses a problem, not allowing the chimney flue to be accessed for cleaning. If the mesh is removed, could the flue be extended and a cap installed?

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: No rain cap

Defect: top of chimney parged and does not have a proper cap; this was likely done in the past as a cheap repair when the old cap was cracked or severely eroded; the parging will suck up water over time, wash out the bricks below and eventually leak into the building; the lack of a rain hat will also contribute to water intrusion and speed up the erosion process
    Recommend: remove parging, install approved non-porous chimney cap, install approved rain hat properly; tuckpoint chimney as needed, service flashings as determined

www.aic-chicago.com
    773/844-4AIC
    "The Code is not a ceiling to reach but a floor to work up from"

You seem to have it together.
    Cap not required. Cap suggested. Wire covering opening. Liner not extending above crown for normal cap attachment.

Adding a cap will require more than a screwdriver, but can be done by qualified contractor.