Default Clothes Dryer Hose issue

I am a retired inspector. I reached an age where is was not safe to go on roofs, attics and in crawl spaces. However, I still enjoy keeping up with what is going on in the inspection world. I had a strange thing happen the other day as I was cleaning our clothes dryer vent. The flexible vent hose (one that is approved for electrical and gas dryers) was connected to the wall unit that exits to the outside through a poured concrete wall. As I was about to attach the vent hose to the back of the dryer I touched the dryer case with the spring steel wire in the vent hose and got an electrical arc. A breaker didn't trip. The dryer was plugged in so I unplugged it, finished the connection and plugged the dryer back in with some reluctance. Anyone want to tell me what was or is going on? Thanks, WHM

Similar Threads:
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: Clothes Dryer Hose issue

Quote Originally Posted by William Merritt View Post
    The flexible vent hose (one that is approved for electrical and gas dryers) ...
    As I was about to attach the vent hose to the back of the dryer I touched the dryer case with the spring steel wire in the vent hose and got an electrical arc.
    First, what you are describing sounds like one of those white (or gray) plastic dryer vent connectors with the steel spring wire in it ... and those are not approved for use on any clothes dryer.

Second, does your clothes dryer have a 3-prong (3-wire) or 4-prong (4-wire) cord/plug/wiring?

If 3-prong, then the cabinet of the clothes dryer is carrying neutral current and fault current through the neutral conductor as there is no true grounding conductor - and it sounds like you have some neutral/fault current which should not be there (the 240 volt clothes dryer is likely all 240 volts, including the timer, which means there should not be any neutral current - unless there was a fault somewhere).