Default Foundation Crack Mystery Solved

This was an interesting exercize.

I got a call from an agent asking if I could look at the foundation of his personal house. He said he had a large crack in the garage foundation and several cracks in the ceiling of the house. The house is located in an area with expansive soils and landslides several streets away. The agent knows that I am an engineer and just wanted to get my opinion of whether he has a serious foundation problem.

The house is about 15 years old and the front faces uphill. The agent showed me a large vertical crack in the concrete foundation about 2 feet from the outside front corner of the garage. The foundation has been stuccoed and it was apparent the stucco at the crack had been patched at least once. (Not disclosed by previous owner.) There was no cracking in the stucco of the framed wall above the foundation crack. I found no other cracks in the foundation (other than normal cracking) until I looked at the other side of the garage. Interestingly, there was a large vertical crack about 2 feet from the front corner of the garage; only the top 3" or 4" of the foundation was visible at this location due to backfill.

The large, covered concrete front porch had rotated slightly away from the house and a concrete slab poured between the porch and the garage had dropped over 1" along the garage wall. The movement of the porch was not a concern. The slab dropped because the soil along the foundation subsided over time due to inadequate compaction (very common around here).

The cracks at the ceiling at the center of the house appeared to be normal cracking. There was no evidence of a foundation problem in this area (no cracks in the basement walls and ceilings and no unusual cracks in the walls of the main level). I determined that whatever was happening at the garage foundation was probably not related to any cracking in the house.