Mel Odic Guest

Default Insurance Inspections...Residential Fire Extinguishers

hello...I have been an insurance inspector since march; & have familiarized myself w/ all relative code info...(at least i'd like to think I have)...but 1 thing still baffles me about residential dwelling fire extinguisher installs as required in APARTMENTS: they never seem to be tagged (as in...inspected by a local official). My company cites 'standard practices' as to their requirement; & NFPA 10 sez nothing about residential vs. commercial. So, I guess the question becomes: Since class A fire extinguishers are required to be installed in the kitchen of an apartment (1 for every 75 feet of travel)...what code governs this requirement; & why. thanx, mel odic

Inspection Referral

Default Re: Insurance Inspections...Residential Fire Extinguishers

Quote Originally Posted by Mel Odic View Post
    hello...I have been an insurance inspector since march; & have familiarized myself w/ all relative code info...(at least i'd like to think I have)...but 1 thing still baffles me about residential dwelling fire extinguisher installs as required in APARTMENTS: they never seem to be tagged (as in...inspected by a local official). My company cites 'standard practices' as to their requirement; & NFPA 10 sez nothing about residential vs. commercial. So, I guess the question becomes: Since class A fire extinguishers are required to be installed in the kitchen of an apartment (1 for every 75 feet of travel)...what code governs this requirement; & why. thanx, mel odic

Check with the local housing or fire department.
    If there is an apartment association, you may find information there.

' correct a wise man and you gain a friend... correct a fool and he'll bloody your nose'.

John Neff Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Rick Cantrell View Post
    Check with the local housing or fire department.
    If there is an apartment association, you may find information there.