Default hand held shower cross connection

New construction. I shouldn't assume there's a built in back flow preventer in this situation, should I? I'm no expert on the latest in plumbing fixtures.

shower.jpg

Last edited by John Arnold; 11-08-2013 at 08:29 AM.
    Member Benefits1
    "There is no exception to the rule that every rule has an exception." -James Thurber, writer and cartoonist (1894-1961)
    www.ArnoldHomeInspections.com

Default Re: hand held shower cross connection

Quote Originally Posted by John Arnold View Post
    New construction. I shouldn't assume there's a built in back flow preventer in this situation, should I? I'm no expert on the latest in plumbing fixtures.

shower.jpg
    I don' know about the back flow preventer, but that is the strangest, ugliest, scariest, fixture I have ever seen.

The beatings will continue until morale has improved. mgt.

This is no different that a spray wand on a kitchen sink
    I would need to know more about the fixture to say for certain, but yes, I think it does have backflow protection designed into the fixture, but not a backflow preventer.
    The tub faucet is (should be ) at least 1" above the tub rim.
    This provides an airgap for backflow protection.
    Since the hand held is connected to the tub faucet I think this provides backflow protection to the hand held as well.

Added in edit
    I'm going to try and find out more about this.

Last edited by Rick Cantrell; 11-08-2013 at 01:40 PM.
    ' correct a wise man and you gain a friend... correct a fool and he'll bloody your nose'.

Quote Originally Posted by Vern Heiler View Post
    I don' know about the back flow preventer, but that is the strangest, ugliest, scariest, fixture I have ever seen.
    I know, it looks like some kind of alien probe. The other bath has the same thing, except connected to a typical overhead shower.