Gerry Bennett Guest

Default Deck around meter

Hello everyone, Merry Christmas. I haven't posted here in quite some time so feel free to beat me up if necessary. A friend called me to fix the electrical portion of his home being sold. (I'm an electrician) There was one double tap and a mention about 3 foot clearances for the electrical conduit. When I walked outside to look at the service I saw they had built a deck and notched around the meter which was partly above and below the deck. There were a couple of short boards directly in front of the meter that apparently were put there to remove if you had to take out the meter. The report mentioned nothing about correcting the situation. What it did mention is that there was a deck built in the back (where the service is) without a permit. The owners neighbor built it when he was out of work. So I fixed the double tap and wrote on my invoice that the service was done with all the proper permits and is code compliant. (was done 13 years prior by an electrician I knew who is deceased, an upgrade from 100 to 200.) So the new owner called me and grilled me saying the poco said the meter should be a certain height off of the surface and I said yes but then they built an illegal deck. The reason I wrote what I did was because I had two recent jobs where a house was being sold and the owners had to take out permits for work they did unpermitted before they could sell. The old owner will pay to move it if need be, but seems to me the new owner will open up a can of worms with the deck with no permit.(and maybe she should be more worried about the deck falling down then the inaccessable meter.) What do you guys think. I know I stretched it, but it's the deck that is not code compliant and making the meter non-compliant.

Member Benefits1

Default Re: Deck around meter