Default Walk Thru Home Inspections

I am a relatively new home inspector and I’ve had some clients express an interest in “Walk Thru” inspections or essentially a very top level brief inspection prior to making an actual offer on a property. My initial thought would be to walk the property with the client for no more than 30 minutes and point any obvious defects / concerns. I’d make the expectation very clear that it is not a full blow inspection and I will not be covering some of the more detailed aspects of an inspection such as fully inspecting the attic & crawl space, removing covers from the panel box & heating systems, getting on the roof, and other more time consuming and granular aspects of a home inspection.

I’d like to get some feedback from the group in terms of whether anyone else has any experience with offering this type of a service. Specifically, I’d like to understand if you are providing any kind of written report associated with these type of inspections or if you only communicate your general findings verbally. I currently conduct inspections in NY and I’m hesitant to provide anything in writing in terms of physical findings as I’m concerned it could be misconstrued as a full blown inspection thus carrying the full liability and SOP requirements.

In addition I’m curious as to what would be a reasonable fee to charge a client for an inspection of this type.

Thanks for the help,

John

OREP Insurance

Default Re: Walk Thru Home Inspections

I would not offer this to a buyer but I have done them for home owners before they put their home on the market or for those that just want to know what is going on with their home. I call them Walk-n-Talk inspections, I talk and they take the notes. I charge my normal hourly fee of $225 for the first hour or part of it. Then I charge in half-hour increments.

Offering this for buyers is just throwing business $$ out the window and might not be allowed under many state HI laws, IMVHO.

Scott Patterson, ACI