Thread: Becoming a HI

Default Becoming a HI

Hello all,
    I'm a new member and seriously considering becoming a HI in the Charlotte NC area (ahit program). I have been doing a lot of research about this career including the legal aspect of it. I do not have a construction background but do have the self taught knowledge and do understand the basic and some in-depth concepts of how a house is put together. I have studied my own house and even installed my water heater, swamp cooler, built my own In-ground 13x27 pool and replace my roof and could even replace my gas furnace if had to. I consider myself very detail orientated
    Question,
    how does one feel coming out of the gate going into business. I do have a son-in law that owns a web design business that could help with marketing and also have a daughter in-law that is an attorney(construction field).
    Can one just venture out on your own? NC does not require "ride along" what's your opinion?

Member Benefits1

Default Re: Becoming a HI

I would highly recommend doing a ride-along or at least looking into some mentoring. Utilizing the practical field experience of another home inspector, generally will only help you get a better understanding of the day to day work and knowledge required to succeed.

Thank you for the reply....I had been thinking about it. are there any other insights you can add

Contact the ASHI Chaper in Charlotte. There is another chapter north of you in Greenville. Attend a few meetings. Talk to the person in charge before the meeting and tell then you wanna become an inspector and want sit in and get introduced around. Greenville chapter is pretty good. Havn't been to the Charlotte chapter. Ask about the ASHI Greenville continuing education. They usually have nationally recognized speakers and great education. Worth the 2hr drive for you.