CD Cameron Guest

Default "Flat Rate" Inspection Fees?

Searched for a previous discussion relating to this topic, but to no avail. SO:

As a newbie, I'm still trying to get my business off the ground. With that said, I am aware of a well established, and quite frankly thriving home inspector in my area that charges a flat rate for their home inspections, regardless of square footage (as far as I know anyway). I came by this info via a good friend of mine.

The idea of a flat fee has never occurred to me before now. Initially, I thought it was crazy (picturing inspecting a 4000 square foot home for the same fee as a 1200 square foot home).
    However, now I find the idea more and more intriguing.

So my question to anyone that cares to respond, is simply: What do you think?

Thanks for your help!

Inspection Referral

Default Re: "Flat Rate" Inspection Fees?

Formerly I charged a flat fee when I started out, but then started charging more for larger homes. My fees are now based on selling price of the home.

My own view is that if you charge a flat fee for any size house you may get more inspections but your selling your service short. But at the end of the day you have to do what you feel is right for your area, experience and what is a business decision.

CD Cameron Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Raymond Wand View Post
    Formerly I charged a flat fee when I started out, but then started charging more for larger homes. My fees are now based on selling price of the home.

My own view is that if you charge a flat fee for any size house you may get more inspections but your selling your service short. But at the end of the day you have to do what you feel is right for your area, experience and what is a business decision.

Thank you Raymond! My thoughts as well.