Default e & o insurance for ahj inspectors

Hello everyone, I was curious as to how many county inspectors have e&o policies that cover them personally. I have been doing this for seven years and have heard all of the horror stories and have talked with many people who say that the jurisdiction will cover you and with many more who say that they won't. All of them suggest the policy, but I don't personally know of any with it. My insurance agent says that liability insurance is not a problem, but the other policy that will cover residential and commercial is not as easy since I haven't had previous coverage. I would like to know what other county inspectors may have in place or if you're even worried about it.Thanks

Inspection Referral

Default Re: e & o insurance for ahj inspectors

If you work for a town, city, county, etc., (governmental body, or political subdivision as they are also called) you are - should be - covered under sovereign immunity of the government as long as you don't act outside of your prescribed position.

If you are an inspector and do plans examiner work without being authorized, trained, whatever - you can be held personally liable.

If you are a plumbing inspector and you do electrical inspections, same thing - you can be held personally liable.

If you are a building inspector and see something that which (for an example) meets code and is according to the approved plans, but *you* don't like it and want it done differently so you don't pass the inspection until they do it like *you* want it done - you can be held personally liable.

But if you are doing your job within the expectations and limits of your job, even though local governments don't actually have sovereign immunity, local governments are authorized subdivisions of the state - which does have sovereign immunity - and are therefore considered to be protected by the doctrine of sovereign immunity.